Academic Calendar

Fall 2017

Date(s) Day(s) Description
July 24 Monday School of Pharmacy P4 APPEs begin
August 4 – 18 Fri – Fri School of Pharmacy P2 IPPEs
August 15 – 18 Tues – Fri School of Pharmacy New Student Orientation
August 16 – 30 Wed – Wed School of Pharmacy Drop/Add period
August 18 Friday New Associate Faculty Orientation (tentative)
August 21 Monday New Faculty Orientation (all)
August 21 Monday ELI Fall Session I begins
August 23 Wednesday University Assembly Faculty & Staff
August 23 – 27 Wed – Sun International Student Orientation
August 25 – 27 Fri – Sun Welcome Weekend (Women’s College Move-In)
August 26 Saturday CAUS & Graduate New Student Orientation
August 28 Monday Women's College; CAUS, Graduate SASB, and Term 1 classes begin
August 29 Tuesday Women's College Cap & Gown Investiture
September 2 Saturday CAUS, Graduate SASB, and Term 1 Add/Drop period ends, and last day to change to Pass/Fail or Audit
September 4 Monday Labor Day holiday campus closed; School of Pharmacy-No IPPE or APPE classes
September 5 Tuesday School of Pharmacy IPPEs, APPEs classes resume
September 5 Tuesday Women's College classes last day to Add/Drop, and last day to change to Pass/Fail or Audit
September 7 Thursday Renaissance Institute classes begin
September 9 Saturday School of Education graduate classes begin
September 15 Friday School of Education graduate classes Add/Drop period ends, and last day to change to Pass/Fail or Audit
October 6 Friday Mid-term break for Women's College students only - no Women's College classes; all other classes are session
October 13 Friday Women's College mid-term grades due; final day to withdraw from Term 1 classes
October 20 Friday ELI Fall Session I ends
October 23 Monday ELI Fall Session II begins
Oct. 23 – 27 Mon – Fri Registration for Winterim & Spring 2018
October 24 Tuesday Community Day (revised class schedule; School of Pharmacy - no classes)
October 24 Tuesday Term 1 classes end
October 25 Wednesday Term 2 classes begin
October 27 Friday Last day to withdraw from Fall full semester and graduate Education classes (all)
October 27 Friday Term 1 grades are due
October 31 Tuesday Term 2 Add/Drop period ends, and last day to change to Pass/Fail or Audit
November 6 – 10 Mon – Fri School of Pharmacy Registration for Spring 2018
November 21 Tuesday School of Pharmacy follow Thursday class schedule
Nov. 22 – 26 Wed – Sun Thanksgiving holiday-campus closed; School of Pharmacy No IPPEs/APPEs
November 27 Monday Classes resume after holiday
November 30 Thursday Term 2 last day to Withdraw
December 1 Friday School of Pharmacy classes end (P2, P3 only)
December 4 Monday School of Pharmacy Reading Period (P2, P3 only)
December 5 – 11 Tues – Mon School of Pharmacy Final Exams (P2, P3 only)
December 7 Thursday Renaissance Institute classes end
December 8 Friday School of Pharmacy classes end (P1 only)
December 11 Monday School of Pharmacy Reading Period (P1 only)
December 11 Monday Women's College classes end
December 12 Tuesday Women's College Reading Day (snow day make-up if needed)
Dec 12 – 18 Tues – Mon School of Pharmacy (P1 only)  Final exams
Dec. 13 – 19 Wed – Tues Women's College Final Exams 
December 15 Friday ELI Fall Session II ends
December 21 Thursday CAUS, Graduate, and Term 2 classes end
December 23 Saturday All grades due
December 25 – 29 Mon – Fri Christmas holiday - campus closed

Winterim 2018

Date(s) Day(s) Description
January 1 Monday New Year's holiday-no classes; No IPPEs/APPEs
January 2 Tuesday Winterim classes begin
January 2 – 12 Tues – Fri ELI classes in session
January 15 Monday M.L. King Jr. Holiday: campus closed; No IPPEs/APPEs (all)
January 20 Saturday Winterim classes end

Spring 2018

Date(s) Day(s) Description
Jan 2 Tuesday School of Pharmacy IPPEs & select required courses begin
Jan 8 Monday School of Pharmacy P4 APPEs begin
Jan 9 Tuesday School of Pharmacy P1, P2, and P3 classes begin (didactic) - follow Monday class schedule
Jan 15 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday - no classes, campus closed; School of Pharmacy no IPPEs/APPEs
Jan 18 – 19 Thurs – Fri International Student Orientations
Jan 17 Wednesday Faculty Institute
Jan 20 Saturday Women’s College new student orientation
Jan 20 Saturday CAUS & GRAD new student orientation
Jan 22 Monday ELI Spring Session I begins
Jan 22 Monday Women's College, CAUS, Graduate SASB, and Term 1 classes begin
Jan 24 Wednesday School of Pharmacy Add/Drop period ends
Jan 29 Monday Term 1 last day to add/drop, Pass/Fail or Audit
Feb 1 Thursday Renaissance Institute classes begin
Feb 5 Monday Women's College classes last day Add/Drop, and last day to change to Pass/Fail or Audit
Feb 6 Tuesday Notre Dame Day (revised class schedule;  School of Pharmacy regular class schedule)
Feb 23 Friday Last day to Withdraw from Term 1 classes
Mar 12 – 16 Mon – Fri Registration for Summer and Fall 2018
Mar 13 Tuesday Women's College mid-term grades due
Mar 14 Wednesday ELI Spring Session I ends
Mar 16 Friday Term 1 classes end
Mar 19 Monday Term 2 classes begin
Mar 24 Friday Term 2 classes last day to Add/Drop, Pass/Fail or Audit
Mar 26 – Apr 2 Mon – Mon Spring Break & Easter Holiday for all students (no SOP didactic or IPPEs; APPEs are off only on Friday March 30 & Monday April 2)
April 3 Tuesday ELI Spring Session II begins
April 3 Tuesday All classes resume
April 4 – 6 Wed – Fri School of Pharmacy registration for Summer & Fall 2018
April 12 Thursday Last Date to apply for August Graduation
April 13 Friday Last day to withdraw from Spring full semester classes
April 20 Friday Student Research Day; School of Pharmacy P4 APPEs end
April 27 Friday School of Pharmacy follow Monday schedule; Last day of  SOP classes (P1, P2, P3)
April 30 Monday School of Pharmacy Reading Day (P1, P2, P3)
Apr 30 – May 7 Mon – Mon School of Pharmacy P4 Capstone Experience
May 1 – 8 Tues – Tues School of Pharmacy final exams (P1, P2, P3; includes Saturday exams)
May 3 Thursday Renaissance Institute classes end
May 7 Monday Women's College classes ends
May 8 Tuesday Women's College Reading Day (snow day make-up if needed)
May 9 – 15 Wed – Tues Women's College; School of Education-Graduate; School of Arts, Sciences & Business; Final exams (*no Sunday exams)
May 10 Thursday School of Pharmacy APPE Orientation
May 10 Thursday Partners in Mission
May 11 Friday School of Pharmacy NAPLEX Review (P3)(subject to change)
May 14 – 18 Mon – Fri School of Pharmacy NAPLEX & Law Review (P4) (subject to change)
May 18 Friday CAUS, Graduate, and Term 2 classes end
May 18 Friday ELI Spring Session II ends
May 20 Sunday Commencement
May 21 Monday All final grades due

Maymester 2018

Date(s) Day(s) Description
May 21 – Jun 8 Mon – Fri Maymester
May 22 Tuesday Last day to add/drop or change to Pass/Fail or Audit
May 28 Monday Memorial Day-campus closed

Summer 2018

Date(s) Day(s) Description
May 21 – July 27 Mon – Fri School of Pharmacy P4 APPEs
May 21 Monday Term 1 classes begin
May 29 Tuesday Term 1 Last day to add/drop or change to Pass/Fail or Audit
July 2 Monday Term 1 classes end
July 2 Monday ELI Session begins
July 4 Wednesday Independence Day Holiday - campus closed
July 9 Monday Term 2 classes begin
July 17 Tuesday Term 2 last day to add/drop or change to Pass/Fail or Audit
July 23 Monday SOE GEI begins
July 27 Friday ELI Session ends
August 17 Friday SOE GEI ends
August 18 Saturday Term 2 6-week Summer Session II ends

Holidays

Notre Dame also recognizes the following religious holidays, among others. 

Although the campus is open and classes held, faculty are asked to accommodate students who may miss class or need flexibility in assignments due to religious observance, and to avoid scheduling exams and important activities on these dates.

Date Day(s) of the Week Holiday
September 10 – 13 Sun – Wed Eid al-Adha (Muslim)
September 20 – 22 Wed – Fri Rosh Hashana (Jewish)
September 29 – 30 Fri – Sat Yom Kippur (Jewish)
February 16 Friday Chinese New Year