Regina Russo Hammel ’41 Recent Graduate Award

The Regina Russo Hammel ’41 Recent Graduate Award honors a recent graduate, not more than 10 years ago, who has exhibited professional achievement and/or contributions to community life and who had demonstrated loyalty to the University.

In 1999, The Regina Hammel ’41 Outstanding Recent Graduate Award was created by Gary and Laura Hammel Dicovitsky in honor of Mrs. Dicovitsky’s mother.

2016 Award Winner

Monique L. Turner '03, PharmD.'15

Monique L. Turner Pharm.D. received two degrees from Notre Dame of Maryland University; a Bachelor of Arts degree in biology in 2003 and a Doctor of Pharmacy degree in 2015.Since receiving her doctorate degree, Dr. Turner has utilized her skills and knowledge working as a pharmacist with PharMerica, a long-term care pharmacy.

Because Monique comes with a wealth of professional pharmaceutical experiences throughout her academic education and field opportunities, she has tapped into a passion focusing on long term care and solutions for educating the elderly regarding prescription medications. Dr. Turner offers seminars and speaks publicly in the community on how to utilize prescription and herbal medications in daily lives. She is an active member of Maryland Pharmacists Association and the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists.

Dr. Turner has received several honors. She was highlighted as the feature student during the Women of Excellence conference while attending Notre Dame of Maryland; awarded the Collegiate of the Year Award by Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority in 2001; the Volunteer Award for Outstanding Service to Baltimore County in May 2002, and the Purple Patience Award in May 2015. Dr. Turner continues to be an active volunteer with the United Way, Maryland Responds Medical Reserve Corps and Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority as well as a member of New Antioch Church-Nurse Ministry.

Past Winners

Year Winner
1999 Milda Motekaitis DeVoe ’90
2000 Theresa Giardina Wiseman ’90
2001 Theresa O’Keefe Armiger ’90, M’98
2002 Wendy Tribaldos – DePuy ’92
2003 Marianna Russell C’94
2004 Elizabeth Higgins Frost ’97
2005 Colleen Manley Sisolak ’96
2006 Roxanne Gladden Miller W’99
2007 Michelle Lizardo Kuntz ’97
2008 Veronique Gugliucciello ’98
2009 Julie Kline Rybczynski ’99
2010 Christina Hood Gray ’00, M’01
2011 Pamela Walters ’01, M’03
2012 La Vida Cooper ’03
2013 Lorna K. Hanley M'06
2014 Lauren Ackerman '08
2015 Nicole Kotulak '09 Ph.D.
2016 Monique L. Turner '03, PharmD. '15